every thing’s relative

One thing I always notice during my visits to the US is that I easily convert back to my California ways. Case in point: distances are relative. I always say we used to live near San Francisco; sometimes I qualify that with the driving distance (it’s about an hour). Yet, I’d never say I live near Utrecht, even though that’s an hour away, as well. (if I actually understood the theory of relativity, I’d add an Einstein joke here).

I guess as far as culture shocks go, this is a pretty benign one. The longer distances, and the whole car-based culture do make me more lazy though. If left to my own devices I’d probably start driving everywhere. It’s probably a good thing I don’t have a car (or a driver’s license, to think of it)..

Leave a Reply

