S.M.T, Master of Arts

I officially graduated last Wednesday and am now allowed to sign my emails with Master of Arts, if I should wish to do so. It’s weird – American Studies hasn’t been my only focus for a while, but it’s still such a part of my life (hello, cultural framework!) that it feels strange to actually physically possess that diploma and not be an American Studies student anymore. One thing is sure: I worked hard for that diploma and had some amazing experiences (say, Berkeley. But also speaking at two American Studies Days, attending countless cool classes, reading so much and really broadening my cultural and theoretical horizons). Things are still kind of up in the air about what I’m going to be doing next year, but rest assured that I’ll be around the university for a while. After all, there are still books in the library I haven’t read…and it turns out I really like the taste of academic success!

look, it's my name!

I may not be wearing a cap and gown, but the dinosaur is!

post-graduation drinks

at the post graduation dinner

and if I needed proof that I have so many people that care about me, I got it last Wednesday. I was surrounded by people and flowers (I can count six vases in my room right now) and gifts (my family got me the complete works of Calvin and Hobbes in three big bound books – fabulous!) and so much love and so many people that are proud of me.

I have to say, there’s nothing like a life-cycle event/milestone like this to remind me that life is good.

3 thoughts on “S.M.T, Master of Arts

  1. Saskia, this is awesome, congratulations. I’m so happy to have known you back in the days of digging in the dirt and making up plays in the backyard. If you ever find yourself back in Boston give me a ring. I get my Masters at the end of the semester (in May) and will head off to a software startup in the area, so I’ll be enjoying New England for a long while yet — definitely come visit!

    • Saskia says:

      Thanks Jessica! And I will definitely visit you when I’m ever in the neighborhood of New England. I have so many fond memories of growing up with you a couple houses down and our weekly sleepovers and everything else!

  2. butterflydreams24 says:

    Aren’t we awesome? Congrats again Sas! You rock🙂 It still feels a bit weird to me as well, knowing that I won’t be wandering the halls of the RU anymore and that when I do visit, it feels like I don’t belong….

Leave a Reply

