ditch the workout, join the party?

look at all the pretty people! (taken off Zumba.com)

I went to my first Zumba class yesterday. A friend of mine goes regularly and likes it, so I figured I’d give it a try. This is what I learned.

  • I am rhythmically challenged. Asking me to do stuff in time with a beat only works if I can copy someone else’s moves at first.
  • Please don’t ask me to do sexy moves in my workout clothes. The only way I am going to shake my ass or move my hips seductively is if you let me have some alcohol first.
  • When starting a new routine, it might be helpful if you actually demonstrated them, instead of slightly moving your body and saying, “and then we’ll do salsa, mambo, bla bla bla, you’ve got it”. No, I didn’t get it, and it’ll take me three of the five minutes that this routine lasts to get it.
  • Always stand in the back, where less people can see your pathetic attempts.
  • A sense of humor helps. Being able to laugh at yourself is useful, too.
  • Once I got over the whole awkwardness of it, it actually was fun. The hour did go really fast and it was a good workout. I think that if I went back I might be able to do the moves more confidently and get more out of the class.
  • Zumba turns out to be a really good way to prepare for a wedding, considering all the time I spent dancing last night. Of course, I could thank the champagne and wine for that..

Conclusion? I still think it’s weird to do pelvic grinds in a workout. But, I have to say, it sure is a fun way to get me out of my comfort zone!

5 thoughts on “ditch the workout, join the party?

  1. butterflydreams24 says:

    I had the exact same thoughts when I started doing Zumba for the first time (don’t know if I’m the friend you’re refering to? lol). And they never explain the steps, you just have to look and copy the instructor or the other people around you who have done some lessons already. But….it’s (at least supposed to) a 13 week routine with the same steps for those 13 weeks. So I’m sure you’ll be able to manage them after a while. The whole shaking your hips thing was really not my thing before either, but I kinda don’t care anymore…the fact that there are some 40+ women who really don’t have a sense of direction and a guy that is sooooo funny to look at when he dances really boosts my confidence πŸ˜‰ Oh and when you finally manage to do one routine without any mistakes, you’ll be awfully proud of yourself and feel so accomplished! So as long as you can get over the ‘oh my god I’m not good at this, I hope people won’t stare, I look ridiculous’ feelings, it’s really good πŸ˜€

    • Saskia says:

      Yeah, you’re the friend I was referring to. I kind of got the feeling that Zumba is best evaluated after a couple of classes..I’ll try and go back next week and see if I feel less self-conscious πŸ™‚

      did your instructor have you do a ton of short routines or is it more of a whole dance routine thing that you learn the steps to in pieces and then put it all together? I’m wondering how much the classes differ from each other..

  2. butterflydreams24 says:

    We have a ton of short routines (that last one song :)). I guess that’s the idea of Zumba. It’s not one huge danceroutine that lasts an hour. We have different steps on every song. If I’m not mistaken, Zumba should be somewhat the same everywhere, otherwise the gyms cannot officially use the title Zumba…at least that’s what I heard.
    Here’s a routine that we do (although it’s ‘old’ and we’ve replaced it with a new Shakira song/routine since 2 weeks)

    Maybe you do this one as well? πŸ™‚

    • Saskia says:

      I don’t recognize that one. There are probably a bunch of different routines you can implement in a class or something. I kind of got the feeling that the others had been doing this for a little longer, so that makes sense..and I do majorly like the fact that it’s not one dance routine, as I always get lost somewhere in the middle and then have to fudge it for the rest of the class..;)

Leave a Reply

