I’ve had The Time Traveler’s Wife on my to-read-shelves for a long time. Yesterday, I suddenly felt the urge to read it, so I picked it up on my way to the train station. (As an aside, that urge is one of the things that makes reading so magical. I will be standing in front of my bookcases, looking over my books, and suddenly, one will call to me. It’s a random and glorious process.)

I have to say, what a lovely, lovely book. The story is so improbable, yet so realistic at the same time. Clare and Henry are so grounded in each other that you can’t help but be afraid for them – and then the worst comes true and you almost have to weep with them. I’m sorry if I’m sounding overly sentimental – the book is that good. It’s romantic and funny and pragmatic and so many other things…

it captured my heart. And today, that is why life is good: because some books do that. They take you with them and you read and read and hours later, when you come to the bittersweet spot that is the last page of a good book, you savor it, then stand up, and stretch, and slowly come back to this world. But the characters never really leave you, and for that, I am thankful.

3 thoughts on “

  1. mirjam says:

    mooi verwoord! In canada zag ik ergens een citaat staan wat ik speciaal voor jou heb onthouden😉 (hmm, zo bijzonder is het missch ook weer niet en een beetje cheesy, en misschien ook al heel bekend, maar goed, leek me hierbij iig toepasselijk (ik durf het nu haast niet meer te typen ;))
    ‘finishing a book is like saying goodbye to an old friend’

    • Saskia says:

      aah wat leuk! en cheesy is vaak ook leuk, en waar. Soms heb ik de neiging om een boek maar niet uit te lezen omdat je dan immers geen afscheid hoeft te nemen…maar uiteindelijk wil ik toch wel weten hoe het eindigt dus dan lees ik het toch maar uit🙂

Leave a Reply

