plinky prompts: bad teachers

my high school. It looks very, um, exciting, right?

I don’t think I’ve ever had really bad teachers. That could be because I am rather a goody-goody two shoes that hates not meeting expectations and so tend to stay out of trouble. Or maybe I lucked out, I don’t know.

I do remember a couple teachers in high school that were … rather good at discouraging me, though. I remember one math teacher who told me that it wasn’t my fault my math grades sucked, I was just really bad at math. A science teacher who wouldn’t explain anything to those of us not on the science track, since we’d be dropping the course after our mandatory three years anyway so he wasn’t going to waste time and energy on us. But the best, or worst, actually, was my social studies teacher who asked me my opinion about the project he was making us do, and when I wasn’t very positive, took the next opportunity he could find to yell at me in class. And please, remember that I never ever got in trouble in high school, so the injustice of it all still rankles me.

Oh, and I had a run-in with our gym teacher. But I don’t really remember why. And I can’t remember the name of my social studies teacher, so both incidents can’t have been all that traumatic. I think.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

