this is how I roll

You’ve heard of Your Brain on Drugs? Well, this is My Brain on a Deadline.

I haven't moved from that pillow for two days now.

except to add more paper to the mess. I mean organized chaos.

Don’t worry, there’s order in the chaos, here. (Do you doubt me? If you came by, you would see painstaking color-coordination and neat handwriting and other signs of a need for outward structure. Some people are surprised I don’t take notes on a computer: well, who needs a computer to be organized when you’ve got a personality as neurotic as mine?)

and no, I wasn’t a conscious recipient of the “This is Your Brain on Drugs” message (the first PSA came out the year I was born). And although I know of Mrs. Reagan’s “Just Say No!” program in the 1980s and 1990s, I got my anti-drug training from D.A.R.E.

To this day, I can remember the role-playing and poster-making and earnest talks from police officers that the program constituted of. But I’m sure those tax dollars were spent wisely, as I haven’t succumbed to a substance-abuse problem yet.

5 thoughts on “this is how I roll

  1. Elske Tielens says:

    I love ther RARE comment! Clearly, druguse and addicition is not the reason you are so neurotic!
    Anyway, I am always duly impressed by the colorcoding and organized chaos, as it clearly signals hard work. Kind of reminds me of that mug by VIS; ‘do not disturb, work in progress’ and the character sleeping in a hangmat. Maybe you don’t remember which mug I mean, while searching for a picture I ran into another appropriate one.
    http://www.google.nl/imgres?imgurl=http://www.stayfitbug.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/do-not-disturb.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.stayfitbug.com/the-fitness-bug/10-ways-to-do-more-in-less-time/&usg=__VWzWgJYVZRnOZpJQhnvSAJY97EI=&h=300&w=300&sz=9&hl=nl&start=111&sig2=2HqV43Yl4niU3DAYGI8tlQ&tbnid=bF2G1UR9MQOe9M:&tbnh=136&tbnw=149&ei=CUlVTI35I4KsOJCVyJ4O&prev=/images%3Fq%3Ddo%2Bnot%2Bdisturb%2Bsign%26um%3D1%26hl%3Dnl%26rlz%3D1B3GGGL_nl___NL258%26biw%3D1024%26bih%3D570%26as_st%3Dy%26tbs%3Disch:10%2C2736&um=1&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=238&vpy=88&dur=1565&hovh=225&hovw=225&tx=150&ty=157&page=7&ndsp=18&ved=1t:429,r:1,s:111&biw=1024&bih=570

    • Saskia says:

      No, I remember that VIS mug thing! Do you think we can give that hat to dad? I think it would fit him like a glove…

  2. I love it! No seriously….I’m a mess like that as well, but always know where I put things and what the order of papers should be etc🙂 I miss studying😦 especially when seeing those pics…they remind me of the good old days haha.

    • Saskia says:

      I just got hit with a large wave of nostalgia: I got an email van HEMA saying you could now order all your school supplies in one place. And it hit me: I don’t need school supplies! It’s killing me. I love school supplies.

      And even if our PhD proposal does come through, it won’t be the same…

      excuse me while I go cry in a corner for a while.

      • butterflydreams24 says:

        Oh yeah I had the same feeling when I was walking around the ‘school campus’ part of the V&D yesterday haha….It used to be the highlight of my summer to buy a new planner and such haha…I’m such a nerd🙂

Leave a Reply

