on semicolons and the worth of education

The rules of punctuation according to Kurt Vonnegut:

Don’t use semicolons. They stand for absolutely nothing. They are transvestite hermaphrodites. They are just a way of showing off. To show that you have been to college.

I love semicolons. I use them every chance I get. So it’s a good thing I’ve never actually read any of Kurt Vonnegut’s work, or I’d have to rethink my allegiance to this particular piece of punctuation.

Although I should probably be embarrassed that I don’t know his work, as Wikipedia has him as one of the most influential American writers of the 20th century. Which tells you that even after a masters in American Studies, there’s still something left to learn!

(via kottke.org)

Leave a Reply

