books, music and love

Wednesday was a Very Good Day. I spent the day in Amsterdam with my boyfriend. We went to approximately three million bookstores, cd stores, and clothing stores, walked around, and enjoyed some really good burgers for lunch. It was fun and relaxing, but what really made it good were these two purchases:

One of the editors, Werner Sollors, gave a talk at my university last year. You should check out this cool website the publishers made to promote the book.

This was one of the books I wanted to buy when I was in the States, so I was really happy when I found it at the ABC. It originally cost $50, but I found it for 23 euros, and since I had a bookvoucher worth 10 euros, it only cost me 13 euros. Score! I can’t wait to read it.

This was the other purchase. My boyfriend really likes music, so when we got to Concerto, he left me at the classical music department and wandered off to get lost among the other CDs. I hadn’t really planned on buying anything, but picked up a cheap CD to listen to (I figured that if I liked it, I could buy it, since it was only 7 euros). And then I saw this.

Jean-Guihen Queyras playing Bach's cello suites

I thought I’d listen to it while I was waiting, just to see if it was nice. If I liked it, I’d put it on my wish list, since it was strictly speaking too expensive to buy right now.

I guess you know where this is heading, right? Well, I put the headphones on and it was so beautiful and so intense it gave me goosebumps. Strictly speaking, I’m not really a music person. I like music, but not with the passion that I reserve for words. (What makes it kind of odd that I play the cello, now I think about it. I do love that. I love the sensation of curling my body around my cello and making music with my own hands. When it goes right, it can be so fulfilling.) But this piece of music really spoke to my soul.

So I bought it. What else could I do, really?

One thought on “books, music and love

  1. Sounds like a great day! That book sounds very interestingđŸ˜€ Maybe you can give a short overview at our next meetđŸ™‚
    As for the music, I feel the same way, except when a song has the right words. But then, it’s the words that touch me, not so much the music…

Leave a Reply

