back to school

Bow Cello2

Image via Wikipedia

I had my first cello lesson today after the summer break. I was kind of apprehensive beforehand, because I had literally not touched my cello all summer. And while I have a very nice teacher, I don’t like making mistakes – at least, I don’t like making mistakes that I shouldn’t be making; things that I should know by now.

But she had me start off with some very easy things (think scales and simple melodies I’ve played a hundred times before). And once I stopped thinking about it, my fingers remembered what to do by themselves. We played a couple of duets, and she gave me some easy sheet music so I could get back into the game. It felt good to play again, even if my fingers did cramp up before the lesson ended.

That such a simple lesson should inspire me. But it did. Before you know it, I’ll be playing Bach like a pro.

Leave a Reply

