gobble gobble gobble

I was reading the paper this morning (the Dutch Volkskrant), and I read an article that said that Dutch turkeys were safe until Easter – apparently, the Dutch still don’t eat much turkey, and Germans mass-order at Easter, not Christmas.

This has got to change. Not because I think turkeys shouldn’t be allowed to live long and happy lives, but because roasting an entire turkey is something magical that fits very well with Christmas. Imagine, everyone is busy at home, wrapping presents, playing games, fighting with each other, eating too much crap, enjoying the snow, and in between all this organized chaos, you’re checking on the turkey every hour, basting it, smelling the sweet smell of turkey and stuffing. You call for your significant other, or your kid, or your mom to come help you, and at the end of the day, when the family is sitting around a dinner table piled high with so much good food, you come in with a magnificent bird that everyone oohs and awes over. Sounds good, right?

Marisa McClellan

 

Plus, if this tableau isn’t your thing, turkey is just plain delicious. It has a more defined taste than chicken, and it’s healthy, and it goes well with everything. Think turkey bits in enchiladas, or turkey burgers, or minced turkey with pasta. My local supermarket occasionally carries it, but it’s expensive enough that I don’t buy it regularly – only when it’s discounted. Then I stick it in the freezer and spend days planning what I’m going to do with it. I can’t wait until I’m living in a house with a good oven, and I can roast an entire turkey all by myself and eat myself sick on the stuffing.

I think it’s clear: I take my turkey seriously. Now all I need is for the rest of the Dutch population to do the same.

4 thoughts on “gobble gobble gobble

  1. Herman says:

    You know Turkeys have been bred so far from nature, that they can’ t actually reproduce by themselves anymore? Now take your turkey seriously, and stop pretending like you care.

      • You get that from my comment? It’s not the fact that you eat meat, it’s the fact that you pretend you care and then praise the consumption of an animal that has been bred so, to be unable to live a natural, normal, or happy life.

        • well, what do you expect when you phrase your comment in that manner? If you had said something like, “it’s nice that you enjoy that christmas ritual so much, but you may not know that according to this and this source turkeys are bred so far from nature etc etc, so you might want to take that into consideration next time you order one. That would really be taking your turkey seriously.” I would have taken it quite differently..

          I am interested in the sources you base your comment on. Do they indicate all turkeys are treated in this manner (so also the more expensive turkeys that come from turkey farms, not ‘legbatterijturkeys’)?

          And if you read my post correctly and carefully, it’s the ritual I care for much more than the meat. The well-being of the turkey before it’s killed isn’t discussed. That might be an oversight, but I think I’m innocent of “pretending that I care”.

Leave a Reply

