thank you, smitten kitchen

I had a really good birthday. And do you know why? Because of this.

bittersweet chocolate and pear cake (image taken from the SK website)

Yes, it’s a cake. But that doesn’t really do it justice. You can buy a cake from the supermarket and have an okay birthday, but this takes it to a whole new level.

It uses browned butter. I didn’t know about browned butter. I didn’t know you could cook butter until it browns and becomes slightly nut-like, filling the kitchen with an incredible aroma. My life is so much richer now. (I’m not kidding. Discovering new techniques – like how to brown butter – really makes me happy.)

It’s light, it’s chocolately, it’s fruity, and it’s so much fun to make (see browned butter, above). Also, you pour in the batter and sprinkle the diced pears and chunks of chocolate on top. The batter then rises in the oven and forms a  cover all by itself. Again, awesome.

My mom tasted it last night and pronounced it heavenly. I have to agree with her, and I think I’ve found a new favorite cake. You can find the recipe here. If you make it right, it just might change your life.

9 thoughts on “thank you, smitten kitchen

  1. Elske says:

    “You have a slice of cake and what it reminds you of is someplace that’s safe, uncomplicated, without stress. A cake is a party, a birthday, a wedding. A cake is what’s served on the happiest days of your life.(…) if sides are to be taken, I will always take the side of cake.” – Jeanne Ray

Leave a Reply

