people with e-readers, beware

I love Roald Dahl’s Matilda with a ferocious love. I must have read that book dozens of times. As I mentioned before, I even once went as the book for Halloween. So when I say that you have got to see this, you know I mean it. It’s the illustrated story of Matilda and the e-reader, and how Matilda once again has her revenge on her father. Unfortunately it’s too big to properly post here, but it’s well worth the trouble of clicking through.

the Matilda we know and love. By Quentin Blake

Enjoy, then come back and tell me about your favorite Roald Dahl. (And if you haven’t read any, tell me and I’ll lend you my copies. No one should go through life without knowing the magic only Roald Dahl can spin – and the movies don’t count. Come over and I’ll tell you all about the Twits, and the giraffe, the pelly and me, and James and the giant peach, and Charlie, of course, can’t forget Charlie and the chocolate factory! But most of all, I’ll tell you about Matilda and how much I wanted to be her growing up. Too bad I never figured out that telekinesis stuff, but at least I read like her. Not bad, right?)

 

 

5 thoughts on “people with e-readers, beware

  1. Elske says:

    My favorite is probably ‘The Swan’ (in Henry Sugar& Six More). I didn’t read it along with the Pelly, the Twits or Esio trot, but a little later. But it made an incredible impression on me. The simpleness of the story made the underlying message even more raw, and really sink in. I think I was most shocked by the idea that children could do something cruel and horrible. If a child could do this, anyone can.
    And then the story, which started fine and then spun out of control, ends on a beautiful semi-sweet note. Definitely a lesser-known Dahl you shouldn’t miss!

    • Thank you for coming back and telling me! The Swan was so very terrible I couldn’t bear to reread it very often. But I agree, his short stories are very fine. Henry Sugar is one of my favorites.

  2. Mindy says:

    I’ve only read two of his books. Mathilda and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I liked Charlie best. Funny story: I had lend it from the library and kept it hidden in a drawer for several months so I could reread it. When my parents found out and had to pay the fine they weren’t very pleased🙂

  3. An says:

    Mindy that is a wonderful story. Very much reminds me of someone I know:) and ofcourse myself but then for other reasons (aka not finishing a book and forgetting I still had it a well).

    Wonderful ereader story! Brings back great memories. My favorite has always been ‘The Witches’ since my 2nd grade teacher Mr Atnip gave it to me. Afraid I lost that one too (which is a terrible shame!), unless its in a box in the attic somewhere😉.

    Waaaaaah my boyfriend hasn’t read Roald Dahl….!!! How is this possible?? And more importantly: where do I begin??!

Leave a Reply

