jip & janneke

I randomly went over to Google yesterday, and saw this:

For my non-Dutch readers out there: this is a drawing in Fiep Westerdorp style. He illustrated the Jip & Janneke stories, beloved by Dutch children everywhere. Even my sisters and I enjoyed these stories in the States (despite my mother’s best efforts, I don’t think we really internalized that much Dutch culture growing up). And I used to listen to the stories on cassette when I had trouble falling asleep. Ahh…good times.

So thanks, Google, for this moment of supreme nostalgia. And what a cool way to honor the author, Annie M.G. Schmidt, on what would have been her 100th birthday!

2 thoughts on “jip & janneke

  1. Love Jip and Janneke! But one comment to make: Fiep is a she! A little detail in Dutch culture that even a lot of people not raised somewere else do not know. Hope that you are doing fine! When I read your blog I feel like I should start writing again! I love it!

  2. Wow, I didn’t know that! I stand corrected. And yes, you should start writing again, I clicked on your link just now and I’d love to read more. And keep with you just a little bit!

Leave a Reply

