fruits and veggies!

A while ago, B. and I visited two farmer’s markets, and bought all of this:

(This is where you all feel sorry for B., since he was the one carrying it all. All I had to carry the snack food, the water, and our books for the train ride. He takes good care of me. Don’t worry, I made it well worth his while – I bought him a cup of coffee at the end of the day.)

It’s all long gone by now, most of it gleefully consumed (although I had to google those pinkish fruits before I figured out what to do with them). I especially enjoyed the light purple eggplant with marble-like veins – aren’t they gorgeous? You also might have noticed the abundance of avocado’s and mangoes – both went for such ridiculous prices that I had to buy them (think 1 or 2 euro’s for the whole lot). I gave some of them away and managed to slough my way through the rest – it was quite the week for my stomach!

It was an outing we were going to do for my birthday back in March, but I first got sick and then all of a sudden it was the end of May and we still hadn’t gone to Rotterdam and Tilburg. Funny how that happens. But now we could have the trip celebrate our one-year dating anniversary, which was especially apt as we spend a lot of time grocery shopping and in the kitchen together. So in the end, it all worked out.

Right now, we’re planning a short summer trip to Belgium. You won’t be surprised to learn that a major concern in our itinerary is the location of farmer’s markets and great grocery stores, nor that we’re packing light so we can lug all the groceries back home. I can’t wait.

One thought on “fruits and veggies!

Leave a Reply

