a new kind of pie

Last week, I came across the whole pie-in-a-jar phenomenon. (I don’t remember where – sometimes the Internet is a big black hole. I only know I ended up at Our Best Bites.) I instantly fell in love with the idea – little individual pies in an unexpected container, perfect for dinner parties or any time, really. And once I had figured out where to buy the jars (thank you, Xenos!) I set out to replicate the recipe.

I decided to do small sweet potato pies, but a fruit pie works just as well. (The fun thing about tiny fruit pies is that these freeze really well, and you can take one out of the freezer in the depth of winter, bake it, and then surprise your dinner companion with a taste of summer – in a jar! Awesome, right?) I was kind of in a hurry when I made them, and you can tell – it tasted fine, but it’s just that tiny bit off because I didn’t stop to taste the filling properly.

One thing that did surprise me was that they really needed as much baking time as the regular, big pies. Also, you might not want to fill the jars all the way up, as pies baked in jars tend to slide up and then you won’t be able to get the lid on as easily. (It will involve smooshing your pie back down and that’s a very easy way to destroy your neatly made lattice top. Trust me on this.) But other than that, go right ahead and make them – it’s quite fun! And they’re adorable enough that people will ooh and aah over them anyway, no matter how they look. That’s a win right there.

2 thoughts on “a new kind of pie

    • Yes, that would work for a pate. I’ve never tried to make one of those..I should add it to my culinary bucket list. And I can definitely see the picnic possibilities!

Leave a Reply

