teevee

You know how some people like to tell you that they don’t own a tv and enjoy spending their time in more superior ways? I’m not one of them. I like watching tv. I like popular culture as much as I like “high” culture and I freely admit it.  B. and I watch a lot of tv together, and I love the hours we spend together on the couch in this way. Our first really long date (the one where all of a sudden, we had spent eight hours together without noticing it) was spent watching movies, Return of the Killer Tomatoes and Up, if I remember correctly. Both of them are dear to my heart for that reason alone.

When I moved to Dortmund, I brought my tv with me. I’m not quite sure why, as Germans like to dub everything on tv, and I don’t speak enough German yet to follow along. Plus, hearing Charlie Sheen speak German on Two and a Half Men is just plain unnerving. So I’ve been reading a lot, and watching series online. I regularly watch episodes of NCIS: LA, Criminal Minds, How I Met Your Mother and Chuck, and B. and I keep up with The Big Bang. The first two are too scary to watch directly before bed, and Chuck is slightly too long to start watching at 10 PM. (What? I go to bed early.)

So tell me, what should I start watching? Preferably a 20 to 30 minute show. Oh, and nothing too embarrassing, shows like Portlandia are so over the top that I have to cover my ears and look away lest I explode from vicarious shame. My sister suffers from the same affliction, which makes watching things together so much better because we can either fast forward or employ a favorite avoidance strategy and refill our glasses together in the kitchen until we deem it safe to enter the living room again.

If you leave a comment, I’ll promise to go watch at least one episode of the show, and who knows, you might be responsible for introducing me to my new favorite show! What could be better than that?

8 thoughts on “teevee

  1. voorstad says:

    Je IQ is toch omgekeerd evenredig aan het beelddiagonaal van je tv?

    But when in Germany, just watch an episode of “Verstehen Sie Spass”. Ein wenig Spass ist immer besser als zu fruh ins Bed…..

    Saludos!

  2. me says:

    Nooo! It is snowing on your site, how intolerable atrocious! (Just my humble opinion..)

    A humble option: ‘Monk’.
    Or maybe ‘Psych’.
    (snow)
    I guess ‘Prison Break’ is to much tension before sleeping.

    Ohhh, snow… (when will Christmas be over)

    • Isn’t it awesome? It worked better on my other designs though, but I didn’t have the heart to turn it off😉

      I think I’ve seen some Monk, that’s a good idea! Thanks!

    • I haven’t seen it yet, mostly because my internet at home isn’t working and watching tv at the office would be hard to pass off as ‘research’ considering there aren’t any Mormons in the Wire..but I’ll check it out!

Leave a Reply

