california 2012

The Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco, one o...
Image via Wikipedia

Yes, that’s right, I am finally going back to California. In February, to be exact, just in time for the Superbowl. I can’t wait. I think it’s been a couple years at least – way too long. I have to give the credit to my dad for this idea – and his frequent flyer miles. What would we do if we didn’t have those? I love not paying for my flights.

You know how when you fly into the US from a foreign country, the customs officer will often say “welcome home”? (At least, that’s what they say in the domestic waiting line, they’re probably less effusive on the international side of the room.) I think it’s a nice gesture when it happens to me in other states, but I love it when they say it in California, because it really is home. I’ve lived here in the Netherlands for almost 15 years now, but I still get homesick every now and then, and I doubt that will ever change.

So I’m looking forward to almost two weeks of Californian speech and food, to museums and bookstores and coffee at Peets in the morning. I’m looking forward to SFMOMA and the Contemporary Jewish Museum and three dozen other museums besides, not to mention shopping and Chinatown in San Francisco, at least one trip up to Berkeley (yay, Strada and Moe’s Books and the gorgeous campus), and an afternoon spent at Cafe Borrone and Kepler’s Bookstore in Menlo Park. And did I mention food? Whenever I stay with my dad, we always go for Thai food in Mountain View, so I’m looking forward to that, too. I’m so excited that I’ve been saying, “going to california” to B. at several times a day. (This is why he likes it when I go back to Germany each week, my frequent border crossing allows him some peace and quiet.)

If this doesn’t get me through the January blues, I don’t know what will.

Leave a Reply

