2011 in books – part one

Voila, the first half of the books I read in 2011. I should probably start doing this by quarter to spare you guys..in any case, I resisted the urge to write something about every book as that would make my head explode, and yours as well, probably.

1. A Novel Bookstore – Laurence Cosse
A lovely book to start off the year. Erudite, well-written, with enough suspense to keep me going.

2. Bite Me: A Love Story – Christopher Moore (audio)*
My kind of love story, with all kinds of weird elements thrown in. Plus, the narrators were awesome.

3. Truckers – Terry Pratchett
A new Terry Pratchett for me. Reminded me a bit of Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of Nimh.

4. American Chinatown: A People’s History of Five Neighborhoods – Bonnie Tsui
I read this back when I thought I was going to write my dissertation about food in Chinese-American literature. Very engaging read – it made me want to learn Chinese.

5. Corduroy Mansions – Alexander McCall Smith
I absolutely adore Alexander McCall Smith’s serialized novels, and this serie is no exception.

6. J. Kessels: the Novel – PF Thomese
Read it in Jordan, but kind of wished I hadn’t.

7. Kruistocht in Spijkerbroek – Thea Beckman*
Read it in Jordan and was glad I did. My first introduction to an e-reader (thanks, Joanne!) and one of my favorite children’s books of all times.

8. Over Geluk – Twan Huys
9. Thief of Time – Terry Pratchett*

10. Along for the Ride – Sarah Dessen
My first Sarah Dessen. I was very pleasently surprised.

11. Many Waters – Madeleine L’Engle*
12. An Acceptable Time – Madeleine L’Engle*
13. We Are What We Eat. Ethnic Food and the Making of Americans – D. Gabaccia

14. Under the Dome – Stephan King
Creepy. Violent. Honest. I read it again, later this year, it was that good.

15. Partners in Crime – Agatha Christie*
The first of many Agatha Christie novels this year. What can I say? I like her writing and Hercule Poirot has really started to grow on me.

16. N or M? – Agatha Christie*
17. Murder on the Orient Express – Agatha Christie*

18. Picadilly Jim – PG Wodehouse
Wodehouse is one of my favorite humor writers. I can’t get enough of him.

19. This Land is Our Land: immigrants and power in Miami – Alex Stepick et al.*
I read this book when I thought I was going to write my dissertation about Miami. I went through a lot of dissertation topics before I settled on “my” Mormons. I originally read this book for my studies in Berkeley, it’s amazing. Go read it.

20. Murder on the Orient Express – Agatha Christie*
21. An Overdose of Death – Agatha Christie*
22. Trace – Patricia Cornwell
23. Wishin’ and Hopin’ – Wally Lamb

24. The Starter Marriage – Kate Harrison
I think this book tried to be more than chick-lit, but it didn’t really work for me.

25. Op Weg Naar Zoar –  Sela

26. Diggers – Terry Pratchett
27. Wings – Terry Pratchett
Part two and three of the Bromeliad series.

28. City on the Edge – Alex Stepick

29. Girl of the Limberlost – Gene Stratton Porter*
One of my favorite books of all time. I think I read it at least once a year.

30. Je Blijft – Anna Drijver
31. Feet of Clay – Terry Pratchett*

32. Zomerhuis met Zwembad – Herman Koch
Disappointing after all the hype. I’m not sure I want to read his other book now.

33. Clausowitz – Joost de Vries
So worth it.

34. March – Geraldine Brooks
Interesting and engaging. Written from the viewpoint of Mr. March, you know, the father in the “Little Women” family.

35. Star Island – Carl Hiassen

36. Het Pauperparadijs – Suzanna Jansen
Emotional family novel about poverty.

37. These is my words – Nancy E. Turner
Not always very well-written but always gripping.

38. Little Men – Louisa May Alcott*

39. The Well of Lost Plots – Jasper Fforde
40. Thursday Next – Jasper Fforde*
41. Lost in a Good Book – Jasper Fforde
I like Jasper Fforde. In case you hadn’t noticed.

42. The Cat Who Saw Stars – Lilian Jackson Braun
43. The Cat Who Robbed a Bank  – Lilian Jackson Braun

44. Gunn’s Golden Rules – Tim Gunn
B. and I were watching Project Runway during this time. “Make it work!”

45. The Seduction of the Crimson Rose – Lauren Willig
46. The Tempation of the Night Jasmine – Lauren Willig
47. The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde

48. Keeping the Moon – Sarah Dessen
49. Dreamland – Sarah Dessen
50. That Summer – Sarah Dessen
The summer of Sarah Dessen.

51. Big Boned – Meg Cabot
52. Size 14 isn’t fat either – Meg Cabot
I can’t help myself. I like her books.

53. The Wednesday Wars – Gary D. Schmidt
54. Okay for Now – Gary D. Schmidt
My two favorite books of the year. Hands down.

55. Lock and Key – Sarah Dessen
56. What Happened to Goodbye – Sarah Dessen

57. The Mysterious Benedict Society – Trenton Lee Stewart
58. The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey – Trenton Lee Stewart
59. The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner’s Dilemma – Trenton Lee Stewart
These were so much fun!

Tell me, what was your favorite book of 2011?

One thought on “2011 in books – part one

Leave a Reply

