2011 in books – part two

If so inclined, you can find part one here.

60. Mormonism for Dummies – Jana Riess and Christopher Bigelow
Light dissertation reading. Actually a very helpful book.

61. Monstrous Regiment – Terry Pratchett*
62. Snuff – Terry Pratchett
I read a lot of Terry Pratchett. His books are smart, nerdy, and funny.

63. Poirot’s Early Cases – Agatha Christie

64. She Went All the Way – Meg Cabot
This really was too mindless and I kind of want the two hours back I spent on it.

65. Murder at Hazelmore – Agatha Christie

66. The Year of Living Biblically – A.J. Jacobs*
A funny and honest look at religion and what following the rules really means.

67. The Geeks Shall Inherit the Earth  – Alexandra Robbin
I liked this book for its concept of fringe theory applied to geeks and nerds, but it felt too self-help-y towards the end.

68. The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents – Terry Pratchett

69. Boy Meets Boy – David Levithan
Quick, fun, young adult reading.

70. Hickory Dickory Dock – Agatha Christie*
71. The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding – Agatha Christie

72. Rose Madder – Stephen King*
This book freaks me out, every time. All Stephen King’s books do, actually.

73. Bumped – Megan McCafferty
This was fine, but I was a little disappointed by it.

74. Finding Nouf  – Zoe Ferraris
75. City of Veils  – Zoe Ferraris
These two, set in Saudi-Arabia, were really nice reads. I think I appreciated them all the more for having been in Jordan and thus having had a taste of Middle Eastern culture myself.

76. Savvy – Ingrid Law
Fun, engaging read about magic and powerlessness and being human.

77. White Water Terror  – Carolyn Keene
78. Trial By Fire  – Carolyn Keene
79. Deadly Intent – Carolyn Keene
80. Easy Marks – Carolyn Keene
81. Stay Tuned for Danger  – Carolyn Keene
82. Two Points To Murder – Carolyn Keene
83. This Side of Evil – Carolyn Keene
84. Mixed Signals – Carolyn Keene
Apparently, I was going back to my youth by reading eight Nancy Drews in one go. I think the last time I read Nancy Drew, I was eight years old and being taken out for coffee by my dad (well, my dad had the coffee. I either had an oatmeal raison cookie or a gingersnap).

85. This World We Live In – Susan Beth Pfeiffer
86. The Dead and the Gone – Susan Beth Pfeiffer
These also freaked me out. I hope a meteriote never hits earth.

87. Interesting Times  – Terry Pratchett

88. The Guinea Pig Diaries – A.J. Jacobs
Not as good as The Year of Living Biblically or the Know-it-all, but still fun and typical Jacobs.

89.The Mysterious Mr. Quin  – Agatha Christie
90. Matched – Allie Condie
91. The Last Dragonslayer – Jasper Fforde

92. The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins*
93. Mocking Jay – Suzanne Collins*
94. Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins*
These.are.awesome. Go read them. I can’t wait for the movie.

95. Coraline – Neil Gaiman
96. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – J.K. Rowling*

97. Under the Dome – Stephen King*
One of his best novels.

98. The Man in the Brown Suit – Agatha Christie
99. The Seven Dials Mystery – Agatha Christie*
100. Evolving in Monkey Town – Rachel Held Evans
101. The Body in the Library – Agatha Christie*
102. Peril at End House – Agatha Christie*
103. The Secret of Chimneys – Agatha Christie*
104. The Clocks – Agatha Christie*
105. The Labours of Hercules – Agatha Christie*
106. Thursday Next – Jasper Fforde

107. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society – Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows*
One of my favorite love/human interest stories of all time. In letter-form, no less.

108. Cause of Death – Patricia Cornwell*
109. Hercule Poirot’s Christmas – Agatha Christie*

110. A Stolen Life: a memoir – Jaycee Dugard
Not a very good book at all, but still worthwhile.

111. The Marriage Plot – Jeffrey Eugenides
Honest and cruel, yet with a semi-happy ending. Good job, Eugenides.

112. The Year of Living Biblically – AJ Jacobs*
Yes, two re-reads in one year. It’s that good.

113. Very Good, Jeeves – PG Wodehouse
I love me some Wodehouse. I bought this one during the trip to New York.

114. Can’t Wait to Get to Heaven – Fannie Flagg*
115. Standing in the Rainbow – Fannie Flagg*
116. Welcome to the World, Baby Girl! – Fannie Flagg *
117. I Still Dream About You – Fannie Flagg
I read all the Fannie Flaggs while waiting to borrow my dad’s copy of I Still Dream About You, which we also bought in New York. Fannie Flagg is one of my favorite writers.

118. Convergence Culture – Harry Jenkins
Dissertation reading, but oh so interesting!

119. 4.50 from Paddington – Agatha Christie
120. The Adventure of the Christmas Pudding – Agatha Christie*
121. Easy to Kill – Agatha Christie*
122. Murder at Hazelmore – Agatha Christie

123. That Old Cape Magic – Richard Russo
Again, an honest and somewhat cruel book, this time about parents and children. I recommend it.

124. The Lace Reader – Brunonia Barry
A fast read but a little complicated, in that when the revelation came at the end I wondered if I had understood it correctly. An interesting look at contemporary Salem. Totally worth the three euros I paid for it.

125. Elephants Can Remember – Agatha Christie*
It seems appropriate to have ended the year with an Agatha Christie novel.

Final verdict of 2011? 125 books read (and recorded, I might have missed a few here and there), of which 39 were rereads, leaving a total of 86 new books read this year. I’d like to thank the Dutch and German railways for making this possible, I think I did most of my reading of trains this year.

Now on to 2012!

Leave a Reply

