on missing

Things I’ll miss from California:

early morning coffee at Peets. Go ask B., I do not like to get up early. But the prospect of a latte and a crossword with my dad will get me out of bed quickly, even if the six is still in the clock.

swimming outside. It’s ridiculous to be able to swim outside in the middle of February in a heated pool, and it’s even more ridiculous to have an outdoor spa at my disposal, but oh, wasn’t it lovely.

the easy availability of ripe avocados.

wandering into bookstores and delighting in having aisles of books to choose from, instead of the usual paltry eight shelves.

American (over)politeness, quite the change from Dutch gruffness and German directness.

spending so much time with my dad.

Reasons why I’m glad I’m home:

taken a month or so after we’d started dating

There are about four hundred reasons in that man alone.

4 thoughts on “on missing

  1. Going home is truly a gift – and each time I go back to the States I try to focus on a different aspect – family, friends, food, space, clean air… But it’s all worth it🙂

  2. Oh my goodness, Dutch gruffness is real! How about us Belgians? Are we nice enough?🙂 Love that picture of you and your man! It’s good to have a one true love!

    • Well, my experience with Belgians hasn’t been extensive (I spent four days in Ghent this summer, I’ve been to Antwerp, that’s probably it?), but I think you guys are mellower and less “nuchter”, that probably helps! And the Belgian accent is the best – my sister and I think there’s nothing sexier than a Belgian guy’s accent.

Leave a Reply

