on running (again)

I’ve started running again. It’s somewhat inconceivable, even to myself, that I’m trying this again. I mean, to look at me, you would not peg me as a runner (body too curvy, legs too short). I don’t get cold easily, which is a useful trait if you want to run outside in the winter, but that’s pretty much all I got going for me.

Well, not if you compare me to Homer. Then even I will come out ahead.

via

I think I’m doing this for a couple reasons. One, I don’t particularly like exercise. I don’t mind moving, but exercise for the sake of exercise kills me. If I could, I’d play a team sport, but I can’t commit to a team while going back and forth so much like I am now. (Just for the record, if I could, I’d play lacrosse.) But I do like being somewhat in shape and running does get me there.

Two, running was something that B. and I did together. In fact, one of our first dates was spent at a local park, me trying to keep up and not willing to admit defeat because I was trying to impress him. Well, impress him as much as possible while wearing workout clothes. Because let’s face it, even my most flattering workout clothes aren’t particularly flattering. (I remember friends questioning the wisdom of going running for a date, but that’s one of the things I love about B.: he appreciates it when I’m feeling pretty, but he doesn’t really care when I’m not, as long as I change out of my pajamas. Which is why I love my yoga pants.)

And three, because when a run goes well, and you find that zone, that’s a great big high. I don’t get there very often, but maybe this round will change that.

Although I am going to stay away from the many Pinterest boards on running or exercise or (shudder) thinspiration. Those freak me out.

3 thoughts on “on running (again)

  1. Goodluck. I don’t mind working out but running is something I will NEVER do.🙂 And I’m with you, I HATE those thinspiration pins on Pinterest. Really now?

  2. I just started running again this week too. And I am so close to starting a “Um,no” board on pinterest just to put all those horrid thinspiration pictures, along with pictures of little girls dressed like grown women. But then they would just get more pins that way. Where is the dislike button for those awful things?

  3. Anneke says:

    I’ve started running (again) too! Yesterday was the first time since months, boy did I feel it today (my mussles ache). planned to run a few miles, turned out that goal was a little far fetched;). Made it past à few blocks, guess thats a pretty good achievement for my first day:). Good luck & you look nothing like Homer- no not even when youre running:).

Leave a Reply

