big bird

Apparently, I forgot all about Big Bird’s birthday this week. Unforgivable, I know.

Big Bird

Apparently, Big Bird turned six on March 20th, as he does every year. (He used to become four, but then he learned how to read and write so he had to be older. Or so I learned from Kottke.org.)

I grew up watching Sesamestreet, as did so many others. And when we spent our summers in the Netherlands, I watched Sesamstraat. I liked the Dutch version better because of the many stories that were told, which is ironic because Big Bird is blue in Holland and that is just wrong.

Dutch Big Bird, called Pino

I’m just glad they didn’t do anything weird to Cookie Monster.

Leave a Reply

