banana bread

My mom has made banana bread for as long as I can remember. It’s quick and easy and delightful. (Although I have learned not to call it banana bread here in the Netherlands, but to stick to calling it banana cake lest I confuse those Dutchies completely.) I make it for church gatherings, small groups, potlucks, or just as a snack. And sometimes I like to feed it to people that don’t like bananas, just to prove them wrong.

Ingredients
2 cups sugar
1 cup butter
6 ripe bananas, mashed
4 eggs, beaten
2,5 cups flour, sieved
1 ts salt
2 ts baking soda

This makes enough for two cake pans, because one banana cake is never enough and anyway, it’s always nice to give food away.

Set your oven at 375F or 175C, whatever floats your boat. Grab two cake tins and grease them with a little butter.

Beat the sugar and butter until creamy (a couple of minutes with my handheld mixer. I can only hope for a Kitchenaid). Blend in bananas and eggs. Sieve your flour, salt and baking soda three times, then mix with the bananas. Don’t mind any lumps, bananas aren’t meant to be totally smooth.

This is also the point in which you taste the batter and think, mmmm. Pour the batter in both tins (it should fill them about half-way up). Then bake in a pre-warmed oven for 50-55 minutes, or until the knife comes out clean. Let cool for about ten minutes. Then grab yourself a cup of coffee (or your beverage of choice) and enjoy a piece of still warm banana heaven.

10 thoughts on “banana bread

  1. yummmm. I didn’t know that banana cake was a thing here. I’ll have to look for it now (and try out your recipe as well). Have you ever put chocolate chips on top? It’s our favorite.

  2. I made banana bread yesterday and accidentally browned the butter. FABULOUS MISTAKE! It is the best banana bread I’ve ever had, and I’m not even a huge fan to begin with. (I also randomly made a crumble topping with brown sugar, white sugar, melted butter, oats, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a few chopped up pecans – yikes, it was yummy.)

    • ik maak het vaak voor mensen die niet van banaan houden, dus vooral niet zeggen inderdaad! (Zo kun je ook courgette in cake verwerken, dat hebben mensen ook niet door.)

Leave a Reply

