Berkeley

You all remember I went to Berkeley, right? It was back in 2008 but I still see it as the most defining six months I’ve ever spent anywhere. Without that semester, I never would have realized that I wanted to go into academics and get that PhD and I would never have had the confidence to try. That semester showed me I can keep up with the nerds out there and even hold my own. It showed me I come alive in college libraries in a way I don’t anywhere else and that I needed to find a way to incorporate that in my life.

That semester showed me how to live a life of faith that isn’t poisonous. It showed me how to love God and his people without losing sight of who I am. It showed me the power of ritual and liturgy and tradition and what it can do for people like me that bring a lot of baggage to the pew.

That semester showed me how to be a good roommate without losing sight of my own boundaries. It taught me the power of lived communities as well as its limitations (and how to find a sense of personal space even when living with so many other people). That’s a pretty useful skill right there, for an introvert like me.

I could talk about Berkeley all day, but I won’t, since the purpose of this post was to show you this picture.

20121031-102046.jpg
You remember the dinosaur, right? And now you’ve seen my sister. You know we like to dress up Dino for special occasions. Well, my sister obviously thought a visit to CafĂ© Strada warranted an outfit, and I couldn’t agree more. Thanks, E. You’re the best.

One thought on “Berkeley

Leave a Reply

