Thanksgiving

Last year, we spent Thanksgiving waiting on a turkey that just wouldn’t cook in my dad’s tiny oven. This year, we broke with tradition and ate lasagna. Partly because of that oven, partly because my dad is moving on Saturday and an actual turkey feast was too much to handle, but mostly because my sister E. just had her wisdom teeth removed and couldn’t really chew anything. Lasagna seemed the way to go.

20121123-113237.jpg
Glad to have been of service, Mr. Turkey.
Original here.

E. and I made dinner while my dad watched football over the Internet. We spent most of that time dreaming up plans for our Christmas break in California (said plans mostly revolve around the new Smitten Kitchen cookbook, which seems about right) and driving dad crazy with our giggling. Good times.

This morning, E. needed the get the 6:56 train back to Groningen. You can tell I love my family not so much by the five-hour train ride I endured to get here, but by the fact I voluntarily woke up at 6:15 to see E. off and have a cup of coffee and a croissant with my dad before he went to work. Tonight, we’re going to Ikea to pick up some stuff for his new house, and tomorrow, I’m helping him move. After that, I’ll be glad to be back in Germany, recovering from all this familial devotion. That, too seems about right.

3 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

  1. You could certainly see your enthusiasm in the work you write.
    The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

  2. My partner and I stumbled over here by a different page and thought I should check things
    out. I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to exploring your web page again.

Leave a Reply

