2012 in 35 questions

Playing along with RA, today. I did these questions last year as well–if you go read them you’ll see I haven’t changed.

Ribbet collage

June (York), July (Utah), June (Houston), December (San Francisco)

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?
Gave my first presentations as a PhD student (in January and July), had my first paper published, cooked with ketchup, curled my hair. (My life is so exciting.)

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I didn’t make any resolutions last year, but I think I might for this year. I tend to go back and forth on the whole resolution thing.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
One friend, so at least I got to shop for one baby this year.

4. Did anyone close to you die?
No, not this year.

5. What countries did you visit?
The US (three times: California in February (see also here), Utah in June/July, California again in December), the Netherlands (obviously), Austria, and England.

6. What would you like to have in 2013 that you didn’t have in 2012?
Enough money to live on.

7. What dates from 2012 will be etched upon your memory, and why?
October 6, the day I left B.

8. What was your biggest achievement of this year?
Landing a pretty prestigious German scholarship, as well as a spot in the summer seminar. Career-wise, I’m doing okay, I think.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Neglecting my mom. It’s kind of hard not to, since I live too far away now to visit often and help out as much as I’d like. But one of my resolutions is to skype with her more often.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Other than a couple days of flu, I think I was fine.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My iPad 2. I love that thing.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
It’s an odd answer, perhaps, but I think B. and me. We split up very amicably, even living together for a month after we decided to break up. It made transitioning a lot easier.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
No one specific, I think. But thinking about all the violence and power abuse in the world certainly makes me depressed, so anyone involved in that.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent and food.

15. What did you get really excited about?
The Church History Library in Salt Lake City.

16. What song will always remind you of 2012?
These are hard questions for me since I don’t listen to music all that much.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?
Sadder, but perhaps wiser; thinner (I dropped two dress sizes this year, so yay for that!); and richer (if only till July when my funding runs out).

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Writing, I think. I wish I’d done NaNoWriMo. Oh well, maybe next year.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Worrying, definitely. I see I answered that last year as well, so maybe that’s something to work on.

20. How will you spend Christmas?
I spent it with my dad and sister in California and it was wonderful (and still is, since I don’t go home till the 6th).

21. Did you fall in love in 2012?
Yes. But since he wasn’t mine to love, I’m adding it to one of the reasons I’m sadder rather than happier in 2012.

22. What was your favorite TV program?
The Big Bang Theory, hands down. I have watched every episode at least four times. Universe, can I get a Leonard to be my next boyfriend?

23. What was the best book you read?
Oh, that’s a hard one! I’ll split it between John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars (review is still coming!), Jonas Jonassen’s The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared, Colleen McDannell’s The Spirit of Vatican II, and definitely not Fifty Shades of Grey.

24. What was your greatest musical discovery?
I…don’t know. I need to listen to more music if I want to answer these questions properly next year. The best I can do is the soundtrack to the new Muppet movie. I listened to that a lot.

25. What did you want and get?
My driver’s license. I passed the test on the first go, which is pretty bloody amazing for someone like me, considering how insanely strict they are in the Netherlands.

26. What did you want and not get?
A sewing machine.

27. What was your favorite film of 2012?
The Muppets. I loved that movie.

photo

May, I think (Dortmund)

28. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 25, and I had family and friends over for food and drinks. I rarely celebrate it, but it was great.

29. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Less time spent on trains.

30. How would you describe your personal fashion concept of 2012?
Dresses, skirts, jeans and the ever present cardigan. And as many colors as I can get away with.

31. What kept you sane?
Skyping with friends.

32. What political issue stirred you the most?
The rape/pregnancy comments made by certain idiotic Republicans.

33. Who did you miss?
My sisters. We live too far away from each other to see each other that often.

34. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012.
I am good at what I do. I’m a modest person, and I like it that way, but it feels good to have that confidence in myself.

35. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
Gah, enough with the music questions! I’ll answer it with poetry, okay? I went back and forth, thinking of this poem first, but I think I’ll stick with this one, instead, in case I need it in 2013, as well.

Salt Lake City and Dortmund.

June (Salt Lake City) and December (Dortmund)

3 thoughts on “2012 in 35 questions

  1. RA says:

    Wow, a big year for you. I like how you integrated pictures throughout your answers and noted when they were taken. I’m not a big music person, either, so I feel your pain on those questions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

