2012 in books, part six

all covers via Goodreads

all covers via Goodreads

58. Packing for Mars – Mary Roach
I like Mary Roach’s books. This one-dealing with the varied topic of space exploration-wasn’t as memorable to me as Bonk, but I would still recommend it to anyone interested in space. I especially appreciated how Roach approached the topic, not only writing about life in space and the science behind space travel, but also all the things that have to happen on earth before space travel is possible.

59. The Mysterious Affair at Styles – Agatha Christie*
An old lady dies, and suspicion immediately attaches itself to her outsider husband. But when his alibi proves unshakeable, suspicion falls upon the rest of the house in turn. This is one of my favorite Christie mysteries, as it’s very intricately done: I really did not see the ending coming. I own the old Penguin edition, which makes it especially fun to read.

60. Unseen Academicals – Terry Pratchett*
Terry Pratchett tackles the world of sports, and academics, in this novel. We learn all about the game of “foot-the-ball”, with a little Cinderella magic thrown in to boot. And an orc–though a much nicer one than his LOTR counterparts. And pie. (Sorry, it’s hard to summarize TP novels, as there are so many fun components.)

61. The Girl Who Was on Fire: Your Favorite Authors on Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games Trilogy – Leah Wilson
I reviewed this one here.

62. The Real Romney – Michael Kranish
It’s interesting that I am not a very political person, yet I do enjoy reading political biographies. This one did a good job of introducing me to Romney – both the person behind the mask and the process behind his failed campaigns. I could have done without all the private equity details but I’ll concede that how Romney made his (vast!!) fortune is part of how he is.

63. Delirium – Lauren Oliver
64. Pandemonium – Lauren Oliver
I really liked Delirium and I couldn’t wait to read Pandemonium, but that one was very unsatisfying for me personally. The idea behind these dystopian young-adult novels is that Lena lives in a world in which love is seen to be a disease, an epidemic that must be stopped. In Delirium, we meet Lena right before she is to undergo the ‘procedure’ which would make her resistant to love, and in Pandemonium, she’s joined the resistance, fighting to bring the government down. My main problem with Pandemonium was the ending–I would have given it four stars with a different ending. But if you’re a fan of dystopian fiction, go find these at your local library–there’s a lot to like about them.

65. They Do It With Mirrors – Agatha Christie*
This is a Jane Marple mystery. (I adore Jane Marple.) You have one semi-dysfunctional family, a host of delinquent boys, and a murder. Who did it? (Not who you think.)

2 thoughts on “2012 in books, part six

    • I really did. Probably also because it resonated with my childhood–my dad is an astrophysicist who used to work for NASA. He took me to NASA for Take Your Daughter To Work Day–space still has that childhood fascination for me for that reason alone.

Leave a Reply

