Aside

2012 in books, part seven

We are now entering into the Provo phase of my 2012 reading list. Between the public library and the university library, I had so many books to choose from that I couldn’t read fast enough.

Untitled 3

66. Insatiable by Meg Cabot
I reviewed that one here. Spoiler alert: not for me. Really not for me.

67. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling.
I found out the other day that the students in my seminar this past semester had never read Harry Potter. Granted, the class size is only ten people, but still, zero readers! Amazing.

68. Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman
CeeCee lives with her psychotic mom, who is increasingly losing touch with reality. Not an easy life. After an embarrassing final episode and then her mother’s death, CeeCee’s great aunt comes to take her away to Savannah to live with her. There, she meets a battalion of eccentric women that help her work though her past (and these are eccentric women. Lovable, lovely women, but eccentric all right).

I really liked this book. It’s cheesy at parts, but never too, and it’s disturbingly real at points too. It’s a great book for summer because it’s light and easy at times, but never too fluffy.

69. The Cat Who Smelled a Rat and 76. The Cat Who Went Up a Creek by Lilian Jackson Braun
In high school, I read as many of these The Cat Who… books as I could get my hands on. I picked these up out of nostalgia and it was perfect for my lunch breaks.

70, 81, 82. Yearbook, The Reunion, and The First Day by Allie Condie
You might know Allie Condie from her Matched series, but these books are first. They’re fun reads about the realities of teenage life, written from a distinctive LDS perspective. The writing isn’t quite as good as her later books, and you have to not mind the naiveté enmeshed in the narratives, but I enjoyed them nonetheless.

71. Baptists at Our Barbecue by Robert Farrell Smith
Guy moves from Utah to small little town that’s pretty evenly split between Mormons and Baptists. Cue a lot of confusing hilarity (and a pretty girl, of course). (I had an LDS theme going on here. That’s what happens when you try to go native for six weeks.) Fun read, fun movie, if a little cliché.

72. The Garden Intrigue by Lauren Willig
I really like these historical novels–awkward heroes and heroines, a spy or two thrown in for good measure, flashbacks and flashforwards to the grad student-supposedly-researching-these-people’s complicated life. Even the fact that a lot of the troubles here could be avoided if people communicated properly can’t dull the fun of these books.

73. Troubling a Star and 74. A House Like a Lotus by Madeleine L’Engle
The first one is from the Austin family series (number 7 to be exact), in which Vicky gets the one-in-a-lifetime opportunity to go to Antarctica. The second one features Poly O’Keefe in Greece. The plots are different, but they are both about troubling things happening and people aren’t always being as they seem. I really like L’Engle for the thoughtful way she writes about everyday and not-so-everyday occurrences. She doesn’t shy away from that reality: her characters live in a complicated world. That said, Lotus is my least-favorite L’Engle book so far.

Leave a Reply

