Valentine’s Day

The other day, I was talking to a friend of mine about living together and how much I enjoyed being able to come home to a special someone. Even when it was hard, and it often was, it was worth it. She asked if I still felt that way, even after the relationship ended.

Actually, I do. B. and I took a chance on each other and we made it work as long as we could. It’s cliché, the “it’s better to have loved and lost than never have loved at all,” but I do think it’s true. I think I have a pretty big heart, and being with B. only made it bigger and me hopefully more ready to meet my special someone.

Image

photo credit: @ifatma. via photopin cc

So in honor of that hope, I’ll leaving you with a link to my favorite love poem. If you have a favorite poem or passage, leave it in the comments! I love these little peeks into someone else’s love life.

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day

  1. mooi gesproken! I am less of a poems, but more of a lyrics person, and these are two of my favorites:
    Alanis morissette – everything, especially the chorus (which almost brings me to tears right this moment just reading it…):
    You see everything, you see every part
    You see all my light and you love my dark
    You dig everything of which I’m ashamed
    There’s not anything to which you can’t relate
    And you’re still here

    And I like quite some Relient K songs for their happy simplicity, for instance ‘the best thing’, which is best appreciated by listening to it I guess🙂

    Happy Valentine Sas!

  2. Alex says:

    I think it’s true too. Loving someone only makes you aware of how fragile your heart is and how powerful feelings and emotions can really be.

    And even though I like poetry, my absolute favorite is Lovesong from The Cure:

    Whenever I’m alone with you
    you make me feel like I am home again
    whenever I’€™m alone with you
    you make me feel like I am whole again

    Whenever I’m alone with you
    you make me feel like I am young again
    whenever I’m alone with you
    you make me feel like I am fun again

    However far away I will always love you
    However long I stay I will always love you
    Whatever words I say I will always love you
    I will always love you

    Whenever I’m alone with you
    you make me feel like I am free again
    whenever I’€™m alone with you
    you make me feel like I am clean again

    However far away I will always love you
    However long I stay I will always love you
    Whatever words I say I will always love you
    I will always love you

Leave a Reply

