Aquazoo

On Easter Monday (an extra day off here), my mom, E. and I drove to Düsseldorf to the Aquazoo there. It’s not a new museum/aquarium/zoo by any means but it was still great. My sister E. has a masters in biology and will start a PhD program this summer, so she had the knowledge to ignore the signs and teach us all about evolutionary processes. She also dragged me into the room with all the live insects and made me look at them from up close. While I will concede the beauty of certain insect species (anything but spiders and cockroaches, basically), I’m still not a fan of creepy crawlies.

Of course, because we never outgrow our stuffed animals, this also happened.

Just catching a ride with my big brother.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Playing hide-and-seek.

Excuse the blurriness, please, I think I hadn’t quite gotten over the insect room yet.

One thought on “Aquazoo

  1. E. says:

    For the record, the signs were awesome! Or as much of them as my limited german allowed me to understand. One of the most in-depth and correct natural history museums I’ve seen, managing to be interesting and engaging without all this ‘interactive’/’digital’ nonsense you get alot nowadays. It was a great museum.

    also, we discovered what happens if you mix scorpion with crab! It’s called a horseshoe crab, and after seeing one in real life, you can’t leave not thinking arthropods (insects, spiders, crustaceons etc) are amazing!

Leave a Reply

