I knew that was a bad idea

I forgot to tell you about the Crisis of the Week here at Casa Chaos. Last Sunday, I went for a run, and decided to reward myself afterwards with a long, hot bath. I took my Kindle with me, and because I am an idiot, I dropped it.

I immediately fished it out and ran to my computer to Google what to do next. (It’s a good thing I had left the shades down as I was in too much of a hurry to even grab my bathrobe. Apparently, my books are more important than modesty. It’s probably also a good thing that I don’t have roommates anymore.) Google told me to put it in a rice bath, which I did…but to no avail. It still displays text, but won’t move from page to page anymore.

I think the suprise is not so much that I dropped it, but that I’ve had it for two years now and this only just happened. To be on the safe side, though, I’ve sticking to paper books in the bath until they come out with a waterproof Kindle or I develop some common sense, which ever comes first.

3 thoughts on “I knew that was a bad idea

  1. Trudy says:

    This is exactly the reason why I wrapped my kindle in a plastic zip-lock bag for the first year I had it. I stopped doing that now but I still worry about all the things that can happen to it and I’m thinking of starting to wrap it again – despite of all the ‘grandma’ comments that I get.

  2. E. says:

    there are accessories for smartphones that help witht hese inds of problems: plastic casings/basically ziplock bag the sice of the phone. Maybe they have such a thing for tablets as well, and you could use that for your kindle?

Leave a Reply

