The Devlin Diary and American Grace

I’ve finally had the time and the inclination to read a book purely for pleasure. I’ve halfway through Christi Philip’s The Devlin Diary, and planning to pick up her first book, The Rosetti Letters, too.The book is set half in contemporary Cambridge, England, and half in 1672 London. It’s shaping up to be a really good historical mystery, a little more literary than Lauren Willig’s spy series but just as enjoyable.

Also, the descriptions of life as a lecturer at Trinity College really made me want to check out job openings. In fact, a quick Google search turned up a junior research fellowship I’d kill to get my hands on, so that’s something to keep in mind..

I’m also working my way through Putnam and Campbell’s American Grace: How Religion Divides and Unites Us. I bought the book back in December, but haven’t had a chance to read it properly yet. I’m going through it, annotating on interest, instead of the criterion of “will this make it into my dissertation.” That’s been really nice, as well. As a measure of how relaxed I am, I’m not using a ruler to underline pertinent passages. I’m even circling stuff in what could be considered a devil-may-care manner, if there were a highly neurotic, paper-and-ink-based entity that cared about straight lines. (I’m not at all convinced there isn’t.)

One thought on “The Devlin Diary and American Grace

Leave a Reply

