why this is not a fashion blog

A good while ago (in fact, long enough ago that she’s issued a new challenge) I was thinking about participating in RA’s 31 for 31 challenge, in which you take 31 items of clothing and wear only those during 31 days, until I realized that I don’t have enough clothes to make that worthwhile.

And then I recently read another blogger’s closet inventory list (who I am not linking to because her blog is perfectly lovely and I’m not critiquing her), and she had ten pairs of jeans. I was kind of shocked, seeing as I never have more than two pairs at the same time (and I only own three pairs of pants, anyway: two pairs of jeans and a pair of dress pants). But that was nothing compared to the 120 tops she listed. On a good day, including all my sweaters, cardigans, camisoles, tank tops, t-shirts and the like, I come to maybe forty. (And yes, this is partly because everything I own here had to fit in two suitcases, but believe me, if I add in my clothes back home I’m still no where near 120.) I mean, I knew I wasn’t really into clothes, but it was a bit of a revelation to see how much exactly I’m not. (120 books, on the other hand, isn’t a problem.)

Conclusion? This made packing for Utah so much easier, even if it does make me an unlikely candidate for a fashion blog, and, let’s face it, probably a boring dresser. But whatever, the lack of choices make it easier to leave the house in the morning. And when it comes to that, I need all the help I can get.

4 thoughts on “why this is not a fashion blog

  1. Becca says:

    I only have two pair of jeans also. It boggles my mind that someone would own ten. It also boggles my mind that anyone would bother doing an inventory of their clothing, and especially that they would put it on their blog. No offense to your friend. Just so weird. I’m personally glad that your blog isn’t a fashion blog. I avoid them!

    • I read a handful of fashion blogs. Because I read Janssen’s blog religiously, I also read Merrick’s, although I will confess that I liked it better when there were less pictures and more text. I like reading blogs of strangers for the peek they give me of someone else’s life, and I guess fashion blogs do let me see ‘how the other (clothes loving) half lives,’ but other than that…

    • I bet some people would say the same thing about all the books I own😉 I think it’s also a matter of personal preference and the importance we culturally place of clothes vs other pursuits. But I do think it would be really nice to have enough clothes to only have to do laundry once a month or so!

Leave a Reply

