Falling, part two

So it turns out I didn’t get off quite scot-free after that fall. Sure, my scrapes were healing nicely, but I was really tired all the time, mentally, but also physically. My usual walk home was leaving me breathless and in need of a lie-down, I had a hard time focusing on work, and I was kind of headachy and dizzy all the time. On Saturday, I almost didn’t make it up a hill, and then realized something maybe wasn’t right. I texted a med school friend of mine, who told me it sounded like a concussion. I checked with a doctor here, and received orders to stop running around so much and go rest. Okay. I won’t lie, not moving was sounding pretty good at that point.

(This is where you think, how did you not notice you had a concussion for almost a week? In my defense, I didn’t hit my head, I didn’t have a headache after I fell, and most importantly, I suck at listening to anything my body tries to tell me. I hate it when doctors ask me where it hurts, as I have a seriously hard time locating the pain beyond a general region. Also, I think we’ve established by now that I occasionally lack common sense.)

So for the past week, I have been resting, and very emphatically not reading or watching tv or doing anything else I enjoy. I’m feeling a lot better but have been told by at least four people to not overdo it so I cancelled my lunch plans for today and am staying home. I am, however, itching to get back to work. I have two conference paper proposals due next week, and I’m feeling the procrastinator’s regret at not even having started them yet, let alone finished them..thank God I do my best work under pressure. I’m going to be in so much trouble if that ever stops being true.

3 thoughts on “Falling, part two

Leave a Reply

