small blessings

Last Monday, my dad called me on Skype to tell me my grandfather was in the hospital. On Friday, he passed away. I spent the week in a haze of “when will it happen,” trying to work with my phone in reach and Skype on in the background, constantly checking for new updates from my mom. Thanks to my travel insurance, I had a flight out of Salt Lake on Saturday, and I’m typing this in my mom’s living room. E. flies in tomorrow, my dad lands on Wednesday, and I am sincerely grateful for the miracle of modern air travel as it means we’ll all get to be together for the cremation on Thursday. It’s a small blessing, but an important one, for sure.

2 thoughts on “small blessings

Leave a Reply

