wait, what?

Actual message someone sent me on OKCupid this weekend:

You are pretty cute for a PH.D😉 I dont see you as a feminist in my opinion. But kudos for you for keeping up with your learning🙂

I will confess that against my better judgment, I wrote him back to ask why he thought I wasn’t a feminist (and also why on earth he gets to determine that for me), and he answered that I looked “too nice” to be a feminist, since “feminists hate men.” And then got offended when I pushed back on that statement, because all he was trying to do was call me beautiful and I should just shut up and let him do that. (That’s when I clicked on the “block” button, for the record.)

Image

and on some days, about as much fun. via

Sometimes I wonder why I still do the online dating thing. (Oh, I know, it’s because I lack the ability to flirt in real life. But still.)

5 thoughts on “wait, what?

    • OKCupid has this section “message me if” where people list things, some more serious than others🙂 I have five or six things there, including “if you don’t think feminism is a dirty word,” just to weed out the ultraconservative Utahns. Apparently it didn’t help. But at least it was better than some other guy who said at that part, something like “it’s time girls get what they need, instead of what they think they want.” (He went to BYU. Why am I not surprised?)

Leave a Reply

