well, that was exciting

I had two days off teaching last week (fall break!), so I took advantage of that and flew to California to visit my dad. What was on the agenda, you ask? Well, book stores, coffee houses, crosswords, a hike, and…a Giant’s game. The fifth game in the national league championship series, to be exact!

On our way to the stadium, someone heard us talking Dutch and asked where we were from. This gave my dad the perfect opportunity to use his favorite line, “I flew six thousand miles to see this game!” It’s true, too–dad always plans his trips around baseball and football. (You should have heard him complaining the one time a European colleague of his had organized a conference on Super Bowl weekend. Never again.)

IMG_0762

Before the game

We had seats in the bleachers, as far up as you could get. The game wasn’t electrifying all the way through, there were stretches where you could tell the teams were evenly matched, at least at the moment. But at the end, oh, at the end, when Ishikawa did that all-important home run? Screaming ensued, pure chaos erupted, and the Giants were headed to the World Series.

DSCN1939

It’s hard to do it justice: my dad recapped the game for my sisters in an email, and I’ll quote him here, “The photos that I took don’t do right to the atmosphere, anyway. If you really want to know what it was like you should look at them and at the same time put your fingers in the outlet.” Yeah, that seems about right.

Taken right after the win. I was too excited to hold my phone steady enough for a non-blurry picture.

Taken right after the win. I was too excited to hold my phone steady enough for a non-blurry picture.

One thought on “well, that was exciting

Leave a Reply

