March, part 2

(I know, I know, it’s May already. Ssshh!)

In March, my dad came to visit me, by way of two conferences (one in Munich, the other in Denver). On our schedule were coffee houses (of course), crosswords to complete (of course), and a trip to Escalante National Monument. (And work, but I’m ignoring that, as it does not make for a fun blog recap.)

Dad has been to every national and state park within driving distance of California, pretty much, and he had been to Escalante before. We booked a room at a pretty little B&B, selected some hikes, and I prepared to get sunburned once again. (Yep.) First up was a six-mile hike to a waterfall:

DSCN2326 DSCN2340 DSCN2343 DSCN2339

Then, a couple slot canyons, which we only made it through thanks to the hospitality of an experience guide, who let us tag along with his group and got us through the sticky parts.

 

And lastly, a hike through Willis Creek: muddy and delightful.

DSCN2400

DSCN2384

The dinosaur was there too, of course.

The dinosaur was there too, of course.

On dad’s last day, we went out for Japanese food at Kyoto’s, where dad made us pose, because that’s what dads do.

DSCN2405

This is my happy face. Don’t judge.

Though I’m sure dad would much rather have me living in California, so he’d have yet another excuse to visit often, I’m also pretty sure Utah’s beauty makes up for a lot. Thanks for visiting, dad. It meant a lot to me.

One thought on “March, part 2

Leave a Reply

